The Greek Islands

The Greek Islands are the main morphological feature and an integral part of the country’s civilization and tradition. There are 6,000 islands and islets scattered in the Aegean and Ionian Sea, a rarity on the European continent, of these islands only 227  are inhabited.

Greek Archipelago occupy a total of 7500 km coastline, offering a highly diversified landscape: long beaches , sheltered bays and coves, golden stretches of sand dunes, pebble beaches, coastal caves with steep rocks, black sand, typical to the volcanic soil. Many beaches have been awarded the blue flag .

Apart from swimming, you can practice diving, water skiing and windsurfing.

They are the cradle of some of the most ancient and prosperous European civilizations (Cycladic and Minoan civilization, etc.), the islands are full of unique archaeological sites, an outstanding archaeological heritage, centuries old, fascinating local traditions of a cultural past.

In addition, 58.5% of the accommodation in the country and 62.6% of hotel beds are found on these islands. All of the above, combined with an ideal climate, water safety and Greek small distances between the shore and port, have a popularity among the Greek islands and among foreign visitors.

Most islands are in the Aegean Sea and are divided into seven groups (from north to south):

North-western Aegean Islands: Agios Efstratios, Thasos, Ikaria, Lesvos, Limnos, Inousses, Samos, Samothrace, Chios, Psara.


Sporades: Alonissos, Skiathos, Skopelos, Skyros

Argo-Saronic Islands: Angistri, Aegina, Poros, Salamina, Spetses, Hydra and the coastal area of Methane.

The Cyclades: A group of 56 islands, the most important : Amorgos, Anafi, Andros, Antiparos, Delos, Ios, Kea, Kimolos, Kythnos, Milos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Santorini, Serifos, Sikinos, Sifnos, Syros, Tinos, Folegandros, also “Ciclades Minor“, which includes Donousa, Irakleia, Koufonisia and Schinoussa.

Dodecanese: Astypalaia, Kalymnos, Karpathos, Kasos, Kastelorizo, Kos missing, Leros, Nisyros, Patmos, Rhodes, Symi, Tilos, Halki.


Ionian Sea islands, has a single group:

Ionian Islands: Zakynthos, Ithaca, Corfu, Cephallonia, Lefkada, Paxi, Antipaxi, Ereikoussa, Mathraki, Meganissi, Othon, Strofades.

These islands, together with Kythira, which is still separated from the rest, opposite the southern Peloponnese (Lakonia), also neighboring Anikythira, constitute Eptanissa .


This entry was posted in The Greek Islands and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Greek Islands

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s